Hello World!

I am a bit exploited as I have allowed my expert knowledge to keep me complacent. But my superior edge will set in as I am done with exploitation for good.

As I speak to you I am relieved that my programming skills did not go to waste ……………but.

A few year ago I remember failing my computer science 1 course as the lecturer said that my crawler never worked. Well against all expert advice I retested the crawler and saw on other computers that it indeed did work.

Later that year, just a month later Operation Honey Pot stole that simulator crawler and I was now crawler less. I am angry and will now set out to ensure that myself and other can now surf the internet in comfort.

As a Programmer despite having expert know-how and knowledge i have been caught up in the dream world of security, which cause me to loose business related data that at first seem to be a fatal error but eventually turned out to be a hacking.

Software
Software is essentially a group of instruction sent to your computer to achieve, a specific task.

 

Tips to trusted software.

Before we get to our 5 tips of security, it is important to ensure that the software you use is from trusted sites. While this will be an article that may be not useful to many, the simple users may gain some useful knowledge from it.

Trusted software = greater security.

Here is a list of my top trusted sites for information on software and apps which you should be using constantly.

Trusted Software Sites

Here are my best sites in no particular order:

  1. MakeUseOf has proven to be in my top five list and has been one of the most reliable and consistent sites, for all IT and IT related domains and can be found at MakeUseOf
  2. For the most reliable reviews on software apps and more please visit Cnet.com.
  3. techcrunch
    Reliable technology news and reviews!

    Here is a great spot for all your technology news and more. Techcrunch

  4. If you are a opensource die-hard like myself now you should visit techapple.net
  5. Last but not least from your smart tv to all you need great reviews more a fix of all technology visit which. Here you will find it to be paradise if you are in the United Kingdom.

      Five useful pets

  1.  Passwords – Go for alphanumeric passwords which is actually a combination of letters and symbols as well as numbers for your passwords making it harder to breach. Nothing is impossible these days. If you are tech savvy use a  password manager. Some password manager is effective likLastPass and dashlane. Ensure your passwords are not less that 12 characters  minimum for all uses.
  2. Emails – Emails should use the same convention as above making it less penetrable for instance guru_22@gmail.com would be better than guru@gmail.com. Please use strong passwords as well.
  3. Networks – Ensure that your network is strong and is better if hidden from the public eye. Where possible use a Vpn or virtual private network to deal with those penetrative spying or use the latest opera browser to protect you from attacks.
  4. Antivirus & Spyware – Please ensure that you use both antivirus and spyware software to protect you from these modern day dangers and if you surf the net often should be used daily.
    avast antivirus
    Top free and paid software

    While Avast, Avg, Kaspersky Lab, remain some of the great contenders for anti-virus programs, In the spyware department SuperantiSpyware and Malabytes and can all be found in Cnet.com. For open source programs my best thus is ClamAv which does the trick quite well.

  5. Data Backup – Now you are thinking this guy thinks I am a dummy. I do not  your Insurance policy is a portable hard drive for all your data. For me data is precious and when it’s lost it’s heart ache. While I use online services like Dropbox your best bet is you own hard drive. If you got an old drive your can use a converter kit to create it.

The internet and software and app creators have focused on making it better for us, while other are hell bent on destroying us. Identities are being lost daily and even our wives, daughters, and  sisters are at risk , as they show up nude on Facebook. Secure yourself and make you and your family rest a little easier. Need and help feel free to leave me a message in the comments below.

See you in the next one and pull out your web pits of war!

ProlificGuru22 is better to be safe than sorry